Episode 35: Roundtable

Download Episode 35

Welcome to Guildcast’s second roundtable show!  This week we’re joined by four listeners to discuss the pros and cons of instanced and persistent worlds as they apply to both Guild Wars and Guild Wars 2.  We also managed to fit in talk of our MMO pet peeves, MMO elements that we love, and Massively Overpowered — Massively’s Guild Wars guild.  In this case, more was certainly merrier, so listen, enjoy, and we’ll see you next week!
The GuildCast theme song is “The Dirt” by Goddessmusic.

If you’d like to contact us, shoot an email over to shawn@guildcast.com or rubi@guildcast.com. You can also follow us on Twitter or Facebook. Thanks for listening!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Episode 35: Roundtable

  1. IngeKy

    I’ve attempted to join MVOP via messaging Rubi in-game numerous times, but I don’t get a response. I’m just throwing that out there.

    Regardless, I enjoyed this roundtable discussion, they were civil and it was pleasant. I’m impressed! Good job guys!

    • I’m sorry I’ve missed you in game! I answer everyone who whispers me as long as I’m not afk, so double check the IGN that you’re whispering: Rubi Djinn. The only time I’ve not been able to answer someone is when I’ve been afk and come back to find that they’ve logged off — that’s happened twice, so if one of those was you, I’m sorry. 😦

      You can always visit our forums as well: http://guildwars.incgamers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=221 If you drop a post in the “want to join” thread, myself or an officer can invite you that way too!

  2. serow

    I completely agree with what Rubi was saying about the local chat in WOW. After downloading the LOTRO 14-day trial (this was before F2P) and just hanging around the main cities for a few days, the comparison between the horrid local chat in WOW and the much more mature and pleasant chat in LOTRO was what drove me to unsub from WOW.

  3. ArcherAvatar

    Brilliant podcast discussion!

    I truly enjoyed listening to every minute of that, and would just like to compliment the hosts for providing great atmosphere, and the visitors for taking advantage of that with their excellent, and very sincere sounding, participation… Well done all around folks!

    As an “old-timer” who is lucky enough to have memories from past game communities, I definitely felt myself commiserating with everyone who expressed a little bit of sadness over the state of many current communities that tend to function on a less mature, and far more hostile level for the most part, however, there is a quote I would like to share with those who are pessimistic about the state of MMO communities…

    “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” – Edmund Burke

    Communities are often formed by “silent consent” … and I would remind folks that “peer pressure” is often sighted by experts as having a strong effect on immature personalities… if you would like to see a community improve in how it treats it’s members then present yourself VISIBLY as a positive facet of that community… warning; this suggestion requires both effort AND taking personal responsibility for your little area of the world (neither of which are particularly popular concepts these days it seems.)

    Personally, I think A-net are forming the foundation for extremely positive communities in just the basic game design of GW2; specifically, the nature of “stranger” interaction in PVE and what we’ve heard so far about WvW PVP. In most cases, it sounds very much like everytime you see another player appear that will be a good thing that is a welcome occurence… no “kill stealing,” in fact, quite the opposite as any added participation from a new-comer will merely benefit those that were already there in terms of character advancement (exp and/or loot.) And in the case of world V world pvp interaction, everyone from my server is automatically my ally, and I am their’s as well…

  4. Yoh

    Well I’m glad you liked it, it was worth going on.
    I had been trying for months to get on no less…… give it another 6 months.

    Btw I also went on to do a blog post on communities and how do mechanics turn them for the better, as in the case of Guild Wars and Starcraft 2, or for the worse, like WoW or Rift.

    You might find it interesting.
    Although sorry I’m not quite on par with Rubi’s level of writing skill.

    ~Yoh

  5. ArcherAvatar

    Thanx for the link Yoh. (btw… there’s nothing wrong with your writing that any decent editor couldn’t correct with ease… it’s succinct, but with a comfortable “conversational” tone that makes it an “easy read.”)

    I thought you put hammer to nail in that blog entry, and all of your main points were well constructed and accurate. I would dispute your contention that there couldn’t possibly be “that many A-holes in the world” … I’ve personally traveled extensively in my life, both independently and while serving in the U.S. Navy, and I assure you, there most definitely CAN be that many, and if you were made aware of the actual number you would most likely either curl up in the fetal position and/or you head would simply pop like a squeezed grape…

    That point aside, there can be no doubt that the fundamental design of a game clearly modifies the attitudes of it’s participants … my point was simply that the behavior of a few “exemplar” participants can also have significant influence, and while certain games definitely make it an up-hill battle to develop a “positive” community, that doesn’t excuse those players who recognize the issue from making the attempt to “fight the good fight.” Every difficult step that earns a tiny advance towards a better community matters in the final count… as does every apathetic slide backwards…

    Everything I’ve seen of the GW community, combined with what we’re hearing in advance about the GW2 game design, indicates to me that we can look forward developing some truly fantastic game communities on the various servers, and our time in game being a uplifting and inspiring experience… can’t wait to see everyone there!

Leave a Reply

