Episode 28

Download Episode 28

In this Very Special Episode of Guildcast, Shawn and Rubi are joined by ArenaNet Community Managers Regina Buenaobra and Martin Kerstein to talk all about the Guild Wars/Guild Wars 2 community. Discussion includes what the Community Manager position entails in the months leading up to a game’s release, and the current community focus for Guild Wars these days.

We’ve also got plenty of email to read and some new information on our upcoming roundtable discussions — enjoy!

p.s. — as promised, here is the forum link for the GWO alliance for our European listeners!

We won’t have a show next week, but we’ll probably record one more for the year.

The GuildCast theme song is “The Dirt” by Goddessmusic.

If you’d like to contact us, shoot an email over to shawn@guildcast.com or rubi@guildcast.com. You can also follow us on Twitter or Facebook. Thanks for listening!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Episode 28

  1. Great interview guys!

    /applause

  2. WabbitTwouble

    Very nice interview.

    It’s great to get some news about Community.

  3. ArcherAvatar

    Your interview guests were incredibly interesting… I was particularly impressed with Martin… with communication skills like their’s they should both be employed hearding cats… oh … wait….

    Ryan is 100% correct… nuff said.

    I guess I’m one of the second class citizen / noobs you were referring to since I have never played GW and have no plans to do so, but will be involved with GW2 on the day it launches…(btw folks, that didn’t come off … the best) Of course, I investigated GW once I became interested in GW2, but it holds no appeal for me (I won’t go into specifics of why since I have no interest in slandering it just because of my personal preferrences)… however, that won’t hinder me from using it and it’s fansites to learn the basics of the lore for the setting ahead of GW2′s release…

    As always, really enjoyed your podcast.

  4. Shawn, for your “Persistent Instances” copyright, you could call them “Persistences.”

  5. I’m something of an ADD gamer as well, though not so much that I’ll play two games at once…yet. I prefer playing Guild Wars while watching a movie or listening to a podcast or audiobook. It’s to the point where I cannot just play a video game or just watch a movie; my fingers need to be moving.

    Of course, I also like Guild Wars because it’s the best single player experience in the MMO world. I’m don’t play well with others. The instance-environment is perfect for me as I get the whole world to myself. Kinda the video game equivalent to the Omega Man, which would be so awesome. Tried Aion and World of Warcraft. It felt like a thousand children playing in my sandbox. Not cool.

    I hear Guild Wars 2 is going to be persistent. That makes me nervous. I’ll try the game when it comes out but if it feels too crowded and there’s nothing I can do about it, I may not stick around. Just seems to me if an instanced game uses less bandwidth than a persistent one (which I understand is one reason why the first Guild Wars was so successful without monthly fees) then it would behoove ArenaNet to offer an instanced option for agoraphobic gamers like me. Granted, I’m not a game designer, and that might be too much to ask for, but I can keep my fingers crossed.

  6. ALEX/DARKSOUL

    Rubi, Spiteful Spirits is the most staple build in the entire necromancer world, I, onthe other han prefer to use a “melee-support” (because we all know there are far too many warriors out there consisting of barbs, (a quick hex that’s spammable) Feast of Corruption, (because of the healing and concentrated amounts of damage) Arcane Echo, (for FOC) enfeebling blood, (becuase it makes damage from warriors more manageable while i spike them down) (not that i like playing caster tank i just wind up being one sometimes) BUH (for all you nubs out there that’s By Ural’s Hammer)
    (for the extra damage) Necrosis,for the awesomeness, then, i always like to play with a mesmer hero so i bring Cry of pain, i usually don’t take a rez (because if the group is good one or two people taking a rez works out fine) and i would rather continue to spike (so that same monster doesn’t kill me while i’m trying to rez) anyway, those are my thoughts, hope youlike ‘em ta ta for now
    -Darksoul
    P.S. i posted this because there are people out there who don’t care to expiriment(izzy didn’t nerf all the good skills out there) there are still thousands upon thousnds of possibilities to explore and i think that’s what seperates the good players from the great ones

    P.P.S martin said Shawn and and Rubi, it’s official now

  7. Desmond

    With regard to Hard Mode, I highly doubt that there will be a hard mode for the events. The only place where I can imagine a Hard Mode, is for the dungeons… they clearly indicated that you would need a group for those, and I can imagine that they give you the option if you want to do the dungeon in NM or HM.

Leave a Reply

